Junction to Rock Springs and Brackettville – 108 miles. Travel southwest from Junction on US-377 to Rock Springs. Turn left at Ranch Rd/FM 674.
Telegraph – Telegraph came into being sometime before 1900 – the year a post office opened. The name comes from the telegraph that connected the string of military installations – or the telegraph poles that were cut nearby. It is a ghost town today.
Rock Springs – Founded in 1891, it was named for the springs favored by pioneers and native peoples. The county seat and the only incorporated town in Edwards County, it has a population of about 1,300. The area is popular year-round for camping, hiking and fishing.
Devil’s Sinkhole State Natural Area – 6 miles northeast of Rock Springs. Peer into the depths of Devil’s Sinkhole, then watch as millions of bats emerge into the Texas evening sky. The natural area is home to the largest single-chambered cavern and third deepest in the state.
Kickapoo Cavern State Park – 39 miles southwest of Rock Springs. Containing nearly 6,400 acres in the southwestern Hill Country, the park is relatively undeveloped – a natural open space where visitors find solitude.
Brackettville – Founded in 1852, it initially a supply stop on the old San Antonio-El Paso Road and a supply depot for the U.S. Army’s Fort Clark. It is the county seat of Kinney County and called home to about 1,900 people.
Fort Clark – Approximately 25 to 30 buildings dating from the 19th century have survived, including officers’ quarters, barracks, commanding officer’s house, quartermaster storehouse, and guardhouse.
Fort Clark Springs – Fort Clark Springs, a unique oasis nourished by the Las Moras Spring which has provided comfort and enjoyment to visitors for over 12,000 years.
Nearby: Spofford ghost town ten miles south of Brackettville.
Brackettville to Del Rio – 30.4 miles. Travel northwest on US-90
Del Rio – Rio Grande River City – A border city and the county seat of Val Verde County, Texas, Del Rio is connected with Ciudad Acuña, Mexico via the Lake Amistad Dam International Crossing and Del Río-Ciudad Acuña International Bridge. Del Rio got its start in the late 1870’s and was first called San Felipe Del Rio. However, when a post office was established, it was shortened to Del Rio. The city supports about 50,000 people today and is home to the Laughlin Air Force Base, the busiest pilot training base in the United States Air Force. See full article HERE!
Devils River State Natural Area – Twenty-thousand remote and wild acres provide access to the pristine Devils River with its unique angling opportunities and its put-in for whitewater float trips.
George Paul Bull Riding Museum and Gift Shop
Glenn-Dowe House – One of the oldest houses in Del Rio that has continuously been used for a home since it was built in 1900-1901.
Del Rio to Sanderson – 120 miles. Travel northwest on US-90. See Full article HERE!
Amistad National Recreation Area – The U.S. portion of International Amistad Reservoir, formed on the Rio Grande River. Amistad is known for excellent water-based recreation, camping and is surrounded by a landscape rich in prehistoric rock art, a vibrant border culture, along with a wide variety of plant and animal life.
Seminole Canyon State Park – Jagged canyons have cut through the Chihuahuan Desert wilderness out where the Pecos River flows into the Rio Grande. People of antiquity once lived in these natural rock shelters carved into the canyon walls by the river.
The Pecos River – Properly pronounced “pay-cuss,” the headwaters of the Pecos River are located north of Pecos, New Mexico. The river played a large role in the exploration of Texas by the Spanish. In the latter half of the 19th century, “West of the Pecos” was a reference to the rugged frontiers of the Wild West.
Pecos River Railroad Bridge and Vinegarroon – A few miles beyond the Pecos River Highway Bridge is a lookout which designates the old townsite of Vinegarroon, and where the Pecos River Railroad bridge can be seen in the distance.
Shumla – Seminole Canyon State Park is the old townsite of Shumla. Another stop along the railroad, it was once a tent city stretching more than a mile long. Today, it is only marked by a couple of decaying buildings.
Bonfire Shelter – This large rock shelter was the scene of several prehistoric buffalo jumps.