Mexican-American War Timeline

The Mexican American War (1846-1848)

Timeline of events through the conflict.

The Texas Revolution Ends after the Battle of San Jacinto

William Huddle’s 1886 depiction of the end of the Texas Revolution shows Mexican General Santa Anna surrendering to the wounded Sam Houston after the Battle of San Jacinto in 1836.

December 29, 1845 – Texas is annexed as a state.

January 1, 1846 –  President Polk orders General Zachary Taylor to march to the Rio Grande River to protect Texas from any invasion by Mexican troops.

April 25-26, 1846 – Thornton Affair – Resulting in a Mexican victory, this battle occurred in the disputed borderlands of South Texas, instigating Congress to declare war on Mexico.

May 3-9, 1846 –  Siege of Fort Texas – American forces withstand Mexican Army attacks.

May 8, 1846 – The Battle of Palo Alto occurred when the Mexican Army, under Mariano Arista in the disputed land between the Rio Grande and Nueces River, engaged an American army attempting to lift the aforementioned Siege of Fort Texas. Resulted in an American victory.

May 9, 1846 –  In the Battle of Resaca de la Palma near Brownsville, Texas Mariano Arista is defeated by General Zachary Taylor.

Battle of Palo Alto

The Battle of Palo Alto took place on May 8, 1846, print by E.B. and E.C. Kellogg,1846.

May 13, 1846 – Congress declares war on Mexico.

May 18, 1846 – Occupation of Matamoros – U.S. troops occupy Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico with no resistance. More than 300 sick and wounded Mexicans are captured in the hospitals.

July 4, 1846 –  Captain John C. Fremont proclaims the independence of California.

July 7, 1846 – The Battle of Monterey, California results in a U.S. victory when Navy Commodore John D. Sloat occupies the city.

July 8, 1846 – Nava Commodore John D. Sloat seizes Yerba Buena (modern San Francisco.)

July 14, 1846 – The U.S. occupies Camargo, Tamaulipas, Mexico.

Early August, 1846 –  In the Battle of Cañoncito, General Stephen Watts Kearny defeats Manuel Armijo on the way to Santa Fe, New Mexico.

August 18, 1846 – Battle of Santa Fe – General Kearny occupies Santa Fe, New Mexico.

General Zachary Taylor, by John Sartain, 1848.

September 21-23, 1846 – In a second Battle of Monterey, California, General Zachary Taylor forces Pedro de Ampudia to surrender Monterrey.

September 22-30, 1846 – Siege of Los Angeles – Led by General José María Flores, Californios and Mexicans retake Los Angeles, California resulting in a Mexican victory.

September 26-27, 1846 – In the Battle of Chino, Californios defeat and capture 24 Americans, led by Benjamin D. Wilson, who were hiding in an adobe house in Rancho Santa Ana del Chino, near present day Chino, California.

October 7, 1846 – In the Battle of Dominguez Rancho, California, Californios, led by José Antonio Carrillo, defeat 203 US Marines led by U.S. Navy Captain William Mervine.

October 24-26, 1846 – First Battle of Tabasco – Commodore Perry makes a demonstration against Tabasco, Mexico resulting in an inconclusive victory.

November 14, 1846 – Occupation of Tampico, Tamaulipas Mexico – Occupation is made by the U.S. Navy.

November 16, 1846 – Battle of Natividad – Taking place in the Salinas Valley in northern California, this skirmish resulted in an American victory. ALSO, The U.S. Army occupies Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico.

December 6, 1846 – Battle of San Pasqual – Californeros and Presidial Lancers defeat General Kearny.

December 16, 1846 – The Mormon Battalion captures Tucson, Sonora and occupies her for a day or two.

December 25, 1846 – Battle of El Brazito – Also called the “Battle of Temascalitos” in Spanish, Mexican forces attack El Brazito, New Mexico, but the  U.S. forces prevail under Colonel Alexander William Doniphan.

January 2, 1847 – The Battle of Santa Clara Fought in California, resulting in a U.S. victory.

January 8, 1847 –  The Battle of Rio San Gabriel is fought as part of a series of battles for control of Los Angeles, California . The skirmish results in an American victory.

January 9, 1847 – Battle of La Mesa – The last conflict before U.S. forces enter Los Angeles, California results in a U.S. victory.

January 24, 1847 – In the Battle of Cañada, General Sterling Price defeats insurgents in New Mexico. ALSO, First Battle of Mora – A failed attack by American Forces on Mora, New Mexico is led by Israel Hendley.

January 29, 1847 – Battle of Embudo Pass – The last insurgent stand before the Siege of Pueblo de Taos in New Mexico results in an American victory.

February 1, 1847 – Second Battle of Mora – Another American expedition armed with howitzers succeeded in razing the village of Mora, New Mexico.

February 3-4, 1847 – Siege of Pueblo de Taos – Rancheros and Mexican Militia surrender to U.S. forces thus ending the Taos Revolt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *